The disaster declaration qualifies citizens of Benton, Coahoma, Marshall, Quitman and Tippah counties to apply for individual assistance which provides grants for individuals and families, as well as possible low-interest loans from the Small Business Administration.

In addition, public assistance was granted for Benton, Marshall and Tippah counties for local governments and certain nonprofit organizations to offset costs like... debris removal, emergency protective measures and repairing disaster damaged facilities. Hazard mitigation has been granted statewide as well.

Residents in the declared counties may begin registering online at www.disasterassistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired.

We expect a temporary local office to be set up in the coming days. We will share more information as it becomes available.